In the Thick of It

I hadn’t planned on starting my blogging summer holiday quite yet, but it just so happened that last week there was no time for writing anything or even thinking about writing anything. This China business is taking up all my time and energy, and I have a few other activities that have kept me very busy indeed. I also downloaded Netflix – yes, finally – but only to redeem the free trial month. I thought if I don’t do it now, I never will, and it’s quite nice having something a bit different to entertain me while I’m working on my cross stitch or cooking or whatever.

It has to be said, though, that Netflix is utterly disappointing. Sure, there’s a lot of stuff on there, but so very little of what I find interesting even in the slightest. So far, these are the things I watched which I actually went looking for and found:

  • A single Sherlock episode which I missed when me and my family watched the whole thing together. I love Sherlock but I watched it too recently to see it all over again.
  • Grand Budapest Hotel, which was alright. There is something visually moreish about Wes Anderson and I can’t quite put my finger on it except that it’s so picture-perfect to be surreal, and I find it delicious.

 

These are the thing I went looking for out of curiosity and watched a little bit of:

  • One episode of The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. I found Kimmy sickeningly sweet and although the concept of the series is weirdly interesting, I find very, very few American comedies funny or even entertaining (The Office (US) is one of the very few exceptions).
  • Half an episode of House. I love Hugh Laurie, and I might yet go back to give this another chance, but I had to pause the episode by the time the doctors were slicing that woman’s throat in the pilot episode. From the little that I saw of the character of Dr House, but mostly based on hearsay, I find his character fascinating – a bit like a medical Sherlock, miserable misanthropes the lot of them. Perhaps I identify with those characters a bit more than I ought…
  • Half an episode of American Horror Story. I have a weird relationship to horror stuff: I creep out very easily, but I find horror oddly fascinating. I had enough of the sexual content after half of the pilot, so I don’t know exactly what levels of creepy AHS is able to reach, but I lost interest and will look for an alternative source of horror in the future.
  • Half an episode of House of Cards. All my friends and their neighbours have been telling me about this series, and I just might give it another go, but American political dramas are not entirely my jam.
  • Half an episode of Dr Who. I had never watched Dr Who before in my life, so I thought it was about time to give it a go. I didn’t hate it, but I felt like I had walked in mid-meeting. If and when I get into Dr Who, I’ll have to start at the beginning, or at least a lot earlier, to get a proper feel of the characters and also compare the different performances for the role of the Doctor.

 

These are the things I happened to stumble upon on Netflix and absolutely loved:

  • The Thick of It. I watched the entire series in a couple of days and absolutely loved it! It was also the first time I saw Peter Capaldi since Local Hero, which was made ages and ages ago. The Thick of It was such a dark comedy, similar in many ways to The Office, and Peter Capaldi as Malcolm Tucker was totally brilliant. I don’t think I’ve heard such creative swearing in my life, and so much of it, come to that. I watched this while going through one of my most intense weeks in terms of work and general admin, and I was absorbing all the stress and making my own life ten times worse – but it was definitely worth it.

 

So this is what’s been going on in the last week. I had hopes and dreams for a well-thought-out post today since my fingers have been itching to get writing today, but there’s too much else on my mind to actually come up with something interesting. I will still try to update before I go to China, so stay tuned in case I drop something marvelous next time.

Leave a Reply

